Parkview Baptist Church is a Southern Baptist Church that was founded as “Northside Baptist Church” on September 27, 1947 in the home of Rev. R.L. Champion. Rev. Champion was called as the church’s first pastor. Rev. Smith Ledbetter soon succeeded him at a salary of $5.00 a week.
After meeting one Sunday in the home of Rev. Champion, the church decided to have regular services in a barn on Wilson Street on the Northwest side of town. The Baptist Training Union was organized soon after; 69 people were present the first night. Three months later Sunday School began. Regular morning and evening services were held in the barn for 16 months. The church then moved into a basement built as the first story of a brick church building.
Construction of the Northside sanctuary (on top of the basement) began in 1953 and was completed the following year. The church acquired 12 1/2 acres of land on Moadus Road and began construction of a new church building in 1970. In July 1971, the churh assumed the name “Parkview” and moved into its new building and its new location.
In 1996, Parkview completed construction of a new sanctuary, choir suite, and office suite. Then in 2000, the church completed renovations that included transforming the old sanctuary into a multi-purpose activity room.
Today, Parkview is a thriving community of believers who are continuing to experience the blessings of God. As we continue to grow, we are constantly in a state of change. Not only are buildings changing, but more importantly, lives are changing. We are excited about what God is doing, about where He is leading, and about who He is calling. You are always welcome at Parkview!